UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health    |   School of Medicine Translate:
UCLA Health It Begins With U

UCLA Pathology & Laboratory Medicine


2014 Pathology Farewell Celebration

 View additional photos here  

The 2013-14 Pathology Farewell Reception and Dinner took place on June 11th at the UCLA Faculty Center. Once again, graduates were honored on a beautiful Southern California evening which began with hors d'oeuvres and an art exhibit featuring faculty, graduate and staff talent. Dinner and presentations followed, hosted by Department Chair, Dr. Jon Braun. This year's graduates and honorees were:

Cardiovascular Achievement Award (Presented by Dr. Michael Fishbein):
Gregory Fishbein

Housestaff Recognition Awards (Presented by Michael Kallen, David Lin, 
Jeffrey Petersen, and Vanda Farahmand):
Roy Baily Anatomic Pathology Technical Staff Teaching Award: Antonio Ruiz
Clinical Pathology Technical Staff Teaching Award: Shih-Mao Teng
Administrative Staff Appreciation Award: Mayra Contreras
Clinical Pathology Faculty Teaching Award: Dr. Stephen Lee
Roberta Nieberg Faculty Teaching Award in Anatomic Pathology: Dr. Sophia Apple

Resident Certificates & Acknowledgements (Presented by Drs. Charles Lassman and Alyssa Ziman):

Sue Chang   Gregory Fishbein        Lawrence Low
Eric Swanson Dawn Ward  

Post Junior Fellowship Certificate (Presented by Dr. Charles Lassman):

Brian Cone Joshua Sifuentes       

Cytopathology Fellowship Certificates
(Presented by Dr. Sophia Apple):
Meenakshi Bhasin Rachel Conrad  

Dermatopathology Fellowship Certificates (Presented by Dr. Peter Sarantopoulos): 
Serge Alexanian      Beth Palla  
Philip Scumpia Jamie Zussman  

Klaus Lewin GI/Liver Fellowship Certificates (Presented by Dr. Sarah Dry):

Dorina Gui Michael Lee  

Hematopathology Fellowship Certificates (Presented by Dr. Sheeja Pullarkat):

Matthew DeNicola Eric Loo  

Molecular Pathology Fellowship Certificate (Presented by Dr. Kingshuk Das):

Rina Kansal        

Neuropathology Fellowship Certificate (Presented by Dr. Negar Khanlou):

Keng-Chih "Kenny" Su        

Surgical Pathology Fellowship Certificates 
(Presented by Drs. Sarah Dry, Jiaoti Huang, Charles Lassman and Scott Nelson):

Jamie Koo Leila Langston Ashhad Mahmood
Zhicheng Mo Khaled Sarah Roya Setarehshenas
Albert Su Winnie Wu SungEun "Stephanie" Yang

Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Certificate (Presented by Dr. Alyssa Ziman):

David Lin        

Clinical Microbiology Fellowship Certificates (Presented by Dr. Omai Garner):

Eszter Deak Shelley Miller  

Olive View Medical Center - Surgical Pathology Fellowship Certificates (Presented by Dr. Nora Ostrzega):

Tahereh "Maryam" Dadfarnia    

Housestaff Conference Attendance Awards (Presented by Dr. Eric Swanson)

Eric Swanson    
Greg Fishbein Shino Magaki  
Ramir Arcega Vanda Farahmand*  
Nam Ku    
Julie Huss Jennifer Woo  
* Attendance Champion



UCLA Rated One of the Top Hospitals in the Nation